The Soundtrack

Director Jean-Pierre Jeunet chanced upon the largely accordion and piano driven music of Yann Tiersen while driving with his production assistant who put on a CD he hadn't heard before. Greatly impressed, he immediately bought Tiersen's entire catalogue and eventually commissioned him to compose pieces for the film. The soundtrack features both compositions from Tiersen's first three albums, but also new items, variants of which can be found on his fourth album, L'Absente, which he was writing at the same time.

Beside the accordion and piano the music features parts played with harpsichord, banjo, bass guitar, vibraphone and even a bicycle wheel at the end of La Dispute (which plays over the opening titles in the motion picture).



Track listing

1. J'y suis jamais allé
2. Les jours tristes (instrumental)
3. La Valse d'Amélie
4. Comptine d'un autre été : L'après midi
5. La Noyée
6. L'autre valse d'Amélie
7. Guilty
8. A quai
9. Le Moulin
10. Pas si simple
11. La Valse d'Amélie ( orchestra version )
12. La Valse des vieux os
13. La dispute
14. Si tu n'étais pas là (Fréhel)
15. Soir de fête
16. La redécouverte
17. Sur le fil
18. Le Banquet
19. La valse d'Amélie (piano version )
20. La valse des monstres
21. L'autre valse d'Amélie (version quatuor à cordes et piano)
22. Les deux pianos
23. Comptine d'un autre été : la démarche
24. La maison

Music by Yann Tiersen except tracks 7 and 14.